So Now What?


Ok so I’ve been attending work conditioning per doctors orders because on the last visit he said I should be good as new in a matter of weeks.
Well guess what?
IM NOT!

1 1/2 weeks ago while doing my program my wrist began to swell and the therapist discontinued the work circuit portion of my program and said I need to be re-evaluated in a few days.

Yesterday was the day it happened and they told me they needed to contact the doctor with their findings.
I was contacted by the scheduling department at the therapy center and they said the doctor had ordered a Functional Capacity Evaluation to see what my permanent restrictions will be.
I am assuming this means after 4 surgeries and hundreds of hours of therapy I’m now being told “Hey guy, this is the end of hope you will return to a normal life”
Perhaps I am just jumping the gun, but I know the amount of pain I am having and the fact that I can’t even pick up my daughter without scooping her up with my forearm under her underarm makes me feel like I’m being thrown under the bus!
I’m not trying to find a way out of work but what am I supposed to do?
I am good at what I do (despite what others may think) and I have always had employment that required just as much use of my hands as my brain.

I guess my ping-pong career is out the window too! šŸ˜¦

I’m trying to keep a positive attitude over this entire ordeal, but everything around me is changing and none of it in a good way it seems.

I know things could be so much worse than they are and for that thankfulness is in my heart.

Updates to follow.

This entry was posted in Life, Life & Living, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Now What?

  1. Valerie Dawn Anderson Jarboe says:

    Byron, I am so very very sorry for all the pain that this has caused you. All off the surgeries that you had to fix the problem. I know that the work conditioning was hurting your wrist and making you have additional pain when you were going through the treatments. We have been friends in HS, and did not know what lies ahead for any of us. I trust that something will work out for you with regards to this matter. It is real shame that has happened to you. šŸ˜¦ I am sure that you will keep us all informed of what is going to happen with your wrist. Just to let you know that I am truly sorry for what this has done. I am also very concerned for you and that you have my sympathy in the situation. Your friend always, Valerie

Leave a Reply

