Dear Mom


I remember when I was a kid, that one day when we tried to be on our best behavior, cleaned the house, made cards in school and took you out to a nice dinner.
It has been 24 years since I last saw you, and honestly each day isn’t any easier than the day before, but I’m trying to deal with it.
I was only 14 then and didn’t really understand why things happened the way they did, but time has helped me put a little closure to it.
I know you did the best you could to take care of us since dad had passed away and I’m sorry I never had the chance to tell you thank you for all you’ve done for me.
You woke up before the sun came up to make sure we had what we needed before you went to work.
You worked more than you slept to make sure we had food, clothing and a roof over our head.
Although we only had 14 years together you taught me the life lessons that to this day I try my best to show my beautiful daughter.
You taught me kindness, patience, persistance and most of all compassion to my fellow man.
I know that you were tired but you kept on going and never complained.
Mothers Day isn’t an easy day for me, perhaps I’m just jealous that you were taken away before I realized what a mothers love truly means or maybe it’s that sometimes I have a question that only you could answer and you aren’t here.
I don’t blame you for passing away because if you could still be here I know you would be.
Just so you know there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about you and all that you’ve given me.
I just wanted to say Happy Mothers Day and thank you for being my mom

I Love You,
Byron

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Mom

  1. michelle a. says:

    Thank you for sharing something so beautiful. I know you miss your mother. What a wonderful impact she made on your life what little time you did have her. I know she is very proud of the person you became. I thank your mother for giving me such a wonderful, caring, understanding friend. Happy Mother’s day to your mom! ❤

Leave a Reply

