Day 9 Post-op with photos :)


This is how my wrist looked 10 days ago

This is what I see for 3 more days

When the splast is removed, this is what is waiting to greet me.

So it’s been 9 days now since the procedure and I’m still in a fair amount of pain. I was awake during the entire procedure and still don’t know if I would opt for that again! It wasn’t bad until the surgeon called out for the drill (to bury the nerve endings into the surrounding bone) and the nurse before giving it to him pulled the trigger a few times to make sure it was operational. I did not feel the actual drilling into the bone but could feel the vibration in the bone just above my bicep. Again not funny! Lol

The nerve block wore off around 9 pm that evening and as time went on the pain was almost unbearable. I slept about 20 minutes that night and at 9 am I called the office to let them know I was about to cut off my arm with a chainsaw.
They looked at the incision and found nothing that looked abnormal, but went on to say with everything that had taken place the day before that amount of pain was to be expected. They gave me scripts for Oxycontin and Percocet and even they were like taking baby aspirin.
I am hopeful my decision to have the nerves excised was a wise decision.
You may ask, “You said nerves”? And that is correct. At first the doctor said there was one nerve damaged but upon looking closer found there were three that were affected and one of those wasn’t too bad.
The problem for now is that with this huge wrap covering everything I cannot tell what is numb and what is not. So come Monday when it is removed I will have a better idea of what to expect.
I have been in better spirits the last few days with the hope that the light at the end of the tunnel is nearing and I can return to work because I truly do love what I do. I may complain that I hate it at times, but I help people who cannot always help themselves. It pays the bills and gives me a feeling of accomplishment.
Updates to follow.
Thanks for reading,
Byron

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

