Dear Brother


Dearest Ricky,
I am writing this to you in hopes somehow and in some way you get this.

Exactly one year ago God saw fit to bring you into his presence and away from us. I can’t help but be mad and hurt but I know you would have stayed if it were your choice.
There isn’t a single day that goes by that I don’t think of you and what you have done for me, and for that I will be forever greatful.
They say time heals all wounds, but whoever said that did not have you as a brother. You pissed me off more times than I can count but you were always there for me.

We did have some great times though like the time you through me in the pool knowing I couldn’t swim and I yelled “Im gonna tell daddy” but I swam to the side of the pool like an Olympic swimmer!
Or the time at bojangles you and Frank left Joe and I in the car and ate chicken till you couldn’t stand up but you did bring us a biscuit so I forgive you for that 🙂

When I was down and out you opened your home so little brother had somewhere to feel safe.

When I was hungry you gave me food.

When I was sad you gave me a shoulder to cry on.
I would give up all of my possesions to have just one more phone call just to hear your voice one more time.
Sometimes I can still hear you telling me it will be alright tomorrow is another day.
Please know that we love you so much and forever there will be a void in our hearts.
We had to grow up way too fast but we turned out ok in my opinion.
Things still suck down here but knowing you have my back makes each day a little easier.

I love you!

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Brother

  1. anissa says:

    I…we, love you sooooo very much. The sadness and anger I can totally relate too, we remember the laughter more and more. I won’t say it’s getting easier cause i’d be lying…tonight for example is going to be another sleepless one out of many that have passed and many more to come, but I will say were able to remember without crying “Ricky” moments that make us laugh. I get so mad at all the wonderful things he’s missed with the kids and then just downright sad at the things he’s missed that are ordinary but would of tickled him in some way. We keep so busy sometmes too busy and don’t really talk about things and then have these crazy meltdowns. I go outside and talk to him, I wake up in the middle of the night after dreaming and feel him, crazy huh? Anyway sorry we keep missing your phone calls, couldn’t be in the house tonight, we had to be busy. We love you sooo much and wished as always we lived closer. What you wrote is a beautiful tribute to Rick and I wish so much to be able to give you a great big hug, we miss you very much!!!!!

Leave a Reply

