I Miss You!


I can remember the phone call like it was yesterday. I had been on call on a Friday night and worked almost all night and at about 8 am my personal phone rang, I was still in the bed so I let it go. Shortly thereafter my work phone rang and it was my sister-in-law. She never calls (it was always my brother who called both phones because he would either have a funny story or a joke that he had to tell me at that moment or he would forget it) her voice wasn’t the same as it usually was when we spoke. She asked me if anyone was with me and I told her that Emily was standing next to me and she went on to say please hold her hand because she had to tell me something. I knew this was not going to be good news but assumed Rick was in an accident at work or was in the hospital for something then I heard those words that still to this day stir in my brain with unbelief “Your brother passed away at 3 am I’m so sorry” I could only sit in silence for a second and began to sob saying No No No! We were as close as brothers could be although he lived 12 hours away. We spoke on the phone just a few days before and he sounded fine and was his normal goofy self. It had been almost a year since I last saw him when they all came to our wedding. He wasn’t the most healthy person in the world, but he had quit smoking started jogging and taking care of himself. He was taken away at 43 and that is too young to die.
Next month it will have been one year since his passing and there isn’t a day that goes by that I have a question or need advice and think “I’ll just call Rick, he would know”
I’m writing this now because I know November 8th will be a hard day to cope, but I know he is always watching over me like Big Brothers always do 🙂
I miss you!

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Miss You!

  1. If I have a question I’ll still pick up the phone to call my Dad. It’s so hard when you miss them so much.

Leave a Reply

