My Best Friend


He wasn’t the smallest one in the litter but he wasn’t the biggest either, but I knew when those little eyes looked into mine as he layed in my arms on his back this is MY dog. The 1st walk he ever went on lasted all of 15 minutes then he decided he was done, so I had to pick him up and carry him the rest of the way home. That was 13 years ago. He still looks at me with those puppy dog eyes but the shimmer in his eye isn’t there anymore. Never has he complained when I came home from work about how tough his day was, but rather lick my hand and wag his tail eager to share his love. He has been my constant companion. I have spoiled him just as he has done the same for me. Lately I have noticed he isn’t the same as he was in his youth and I can tell he is tired and beginning to have pain but I feel guilty knowing he has never given me anything but his true devotion and love I know you are saying “Its just a dog!” And you are correct he is just a dog, but damn it he is MY dog and I am His human! He came up to me the other day as I sat on the couch, sat down on the floor and just looked into my eyes with a peaceful solemn stare as if to say. “Poppy I’m tired I’ve had a good life you’ve done more for me than I could have ever imagined” and I began to cry. Am I wrong for thinking this conversation happened without even exchanging a word? So now I must decide the next step, do I let him go to a place where the grass is green to run and play with the other puppies and have ice cream whenever he wants 🙂 or do I let the selfish side take over and keep him here for my own desire in hopes that he will live forever? Being his human for 13 years hasn’t always been easy, but adopting him has enriched my life in ways I could have never imagined either so to that I say “Thank You” My Best Friend!!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Best Friend

  1. Jesse French says:

    I think a dog simply almost becomes a human, a huge part of the family. They never leave your side, never hold a grudge… they are wonderful. I think you know what is best, and I know the hardest part is letting your selfishness go and giving him the option. I do wish you strength, and wish that gorgeous dog strength as well. There’s already a plan made out, but it’s our decision on how to take it. If you need anything, don’t mind calling us. Ryan went through a rough time with his dog Haley, she was his absolute best friend. So he knows exactly how you feel. =) Hugs and prayers to you.

  2. Amy Stark says:

    I understand how you feel and I am so sorry. Life can really stink every now and then.

Leave a Reply

